intro to life afloat

So I don’t know what to write for my first post as a blogger- I don’t know if people I know will be reading this, if people I don’t know will be reading this, or if anyone at all will be reading this. But here goes! My name is Maria, and I live on a boat in Alaska with my wonderful boyfriend Rob. That’s right, we’re on a boat. Hey, I think I’ve heard a song about that…

If you’re on the shore, then you’re sho’ not me.

Our living situation is admittedly unusual and I think it could be interesting to share some of our experiences along with those of other individuals/families who live on boats as well. This blog is not for me to be pretentious and brag about how great it is to live on a boat. Not at all. In fact, let me give you an idea of what our home looks like.

not our boat

That’s not it.

The boat we share together is a lovely and humble 31 foot cabin cruiser. If you are like me and have no idea what to picture when I say “31 foot cabin cruiser,” I’ll give you some specifics: our living space on the boat is about 9.5’x12.5′. That’s a little less than 120 square feet. For two people. Think smaller than your college dorm. Probably smaller than your kitchen. Maybe even smaller than your bathroom. For two people. It’s not a houseboat, except in the sense that we live on it and it’s a boat. And it’s not a yacht. He will probably read this and be offended, but it’s definitely not a yacht.

There it is!

My sister in Indiana suggested I start a blog a few months ago as a way to keep in touch with my family in Indiana when I moved to Ketchikan, Alaska. Well, sister, here it is! Living in Alaska is an adventure in itself, and living on a boat here is a lifestyle that (I think) is worth sharing. It has it’s advantages and disadvantages (more on that later), and I figured there might be a few people out there who would be interested in reading about it, especially if you are like me and obsessed with all things HGTV. I’ve always loved writing and am excited to share this adventure with friends and family, near and far.

Until next time, float on friends

4 responses

  1. As I read this, I have HGTV playing in the background…. and just got done complaining about the size of my apartment to my dad over the phone. 🙂 Thanks for the reality check, Maria! I’m jealous of the boat!!! …. Miss you!

    Like

    • beth beth! Oh man I miss HGTV…we were house sitting for a while and of all the luxuries we had there that we don’t have on the boat it’s getting to lay in bed every night and watch house hunters that I miss most! I miss you too…I promise I haven’t forgotten about you 🙂 You will have to come back and visit and stay on the boat with us. Having a third person on the boat would be super blog-able!

      Like

  2. This is going to be fun to read on, especially knowing that you had more than 120 square feet of stuff. In yoor vehicle when you left.
    Good luck with that.

    Like

thoughts?

